A car accident can happen out of the blue. If you suffer injuries and property damage following a car crash that is not your fault, you may be eligible for compensation for the resulting damages through a personal injury lawsuit.
Like other legal matters, personal injury lawsuits can be complicated, especially if you do not know how the law works. To successfully litigate your case and realize the desired outcome, it’s in your best interest that you understand the specific laws applicable to your case and how they work.
Here are two statutes that you need to understand when pursuing a personal injury claim in Connecticut.
The state’s negligence laws
Every state has a doctrine for determining fault following a car crash. In Connecticut, this doctrine is known as modified comparative negligence. Per this doctrine, your damages will be reduced based on your contribution to the accident in question. It is important to understand that you cannot recover damages if your contribution to the accident is 51 percent or greater.
This underpins the importance of obtaining as much evidence as possible for your case, especially if the other party is disputing their involvement. Some of the evidence you may use to strengthen your case includes a copy of the police report, eyewitness accounts and photos of the accident scene.
The state’s statute of limitations
The other party might be 100 percent liable for the accident that resulted in your injuries and property damage. Unfortunately, you do not have the luxury of pursuing damages at your convenience. If you are planning to file a claim, you must act within the statute of limitations period. And in Connecticut, this means that you must file your claim within three years from the date of the crash.
If you or someone you love is involved in a car crash that is not your fault, you deserve justice. Learning more about Connecticut car accident laws can help you protect your rights and interests while pursuing damages following a car crash.